Skip directly to content

Kid Rock

ARTISTS

[{"title":"Rationale","path":"\/artist\/rationale"},{"title":"Golden Features","path":"\/artist\/golden-features"},{"title":"Gorillaz","path":"\/artist\/gorillaz"},{"title":"Cut Snake ","path":"\/artist\/cut-snake"},{"title":"Daye Jack","path":"\/artist\/daye-jack"},{"title":"Tegan & Sara","path":"\/artist\/tegan-sara"},{"title":"Residual Kid","path":"\/artist\/residual-kid-0"},{"title":"Roy Woods","path":"\/artist\/roy-woods"},{"title":"The Wild Feathers","path":"\/artist\/wild-feathers"},{"title":"Bat For Lashes","path":"\/artist\/bat-lashes"},{"title":"Dwight Yoakam","path":"\/artist\/dwight-yoakam"},{"title":"GTA","path":"\/artist\/gta"},{"title":"Goo Goo Dolls","path":"\/artist\/goo-goo-dolls"},{"title":"LIGHTS","path":"\/artist\/lights"},{"title":"Damon Albarn ","path":"\/artist\/damon-albarn"},{"title":"Deftones","path":"\/artist\/deftones"},{"title":"L2M","path":"\/artist\/l2m"},{"title":"Greg Holden","path":"\/artist\/greg-holden"},{"title":"Brandy Clark","path":"\/artist\/brandy-clark"},{"title":"Synapson","path":"\/artist\/synapson"},{"title":"Disciples","path":"\/artist\/disciples"},{"title":"Spencer Ludwig","path":"\/artist\/spencer-ludwig-0"},{"title":"Cerrone","path":"\/artist\/cerrone"},{"title":"XYconstant","path":"\/artist\/xyconstant"},{"title":"Stevie Nicks","path":"\/artist\/stevie-nicks"},{"title":"The Dead Weather","path":"\/artist\/dead-weather"},{"title":"Foals","path":"\/artist\/foals"},{"title":"Eric Clapton","path":"\/artist\/eric-clapton"},{"title":"Kid Rock","path":"\/artist\/kid-rock"},{"title":"Josh Groban ","path":"\/artist\/josh-groban"},{"title":"Nico & Vinz","path":"\/artist\/nico-vinz"},{"title":"Jason Derulo","path":"\/artist\/jason-derulo"},{"title":"Royal Blood","path":"\/artist\/royal-blood"},{"title":"PARTYBABY ","path":"\/artist\/partybaby"},{"title":"Chase Atlantic","path":"\/artist\/chase-atlantic"},{"title":"Ben Lee","path":"\/artist\/ben-lee"},{"title":"JR JR","path":"\/artist\/jr-jr"},{"title":"Giovanni James","path":"\/artist\/giovanni-james-0"},{"title":"Richard Hawley","path":"\/artist\/richard-hawley"},{"title":"Club Cheval","path":"\/artist\/club-cheval"},{"title":"Mac Miller","path":"\/artist\/mac-miller"},{"title":"Green Day","path":"\/artist\/green-day"},{"title":"Klangstof","path":"\/artist\/klangstof"},{"title":"Oliver Heldens","path":"\/artist\/oliver-heldens"},{"title":"Regina Spektor","path":"\/artist\/regina-spektor"},{"title":"Lindemann","path":"\/artist\/lindemann"},{"title":"Gary Clark Jr.","path":"\/artist\/gary-clark-jr"},{"title":"The Shelters","path":"\/artist\/shelters-0"},{"title":"Benny Cassette","path":"\/artist\/benny-cassette"},{"title":"Mastodon","path":"\/artist\/mastodon"},{"title":"DVSN","path":"\/artist\/dvsn"},{"title":"Jenny Lewis","path":"\/artist\/jenny-lewis"},{"title":"Adam Lambert","path":"\/artist\/adam-lambert"},{"title":"Liam Gallagher","path":"\/artist\/liam-gallagher"},{"title":"THEY.","path":"\/artist\/they"},{"title":"Angelica Garcia","path":"\/artist\/angelica-garcia-0"},{"title":"Baskery","path":"\/artist\/baskery-0"},{"title":"The Arcs","path":"\/artist\/arcs"},{"title":"Alvarez Kings","path":"\/artist\/alvarez-kings"},{"title":"Seal","path":"\/artist\/seal"},{"title":"Wildling","path":"\/artist\/wildling"},{"title":"Disturbed","path":"\/artist\/disturbed"},{"title":"RedOne","path":"\/artist\/redone"},{"title":"Yolanda Be Cool","path":"\/artist\/yolanda-be-cool"},{"title":"Linkin Park","path":"\/artist\/linkin-park"},{"title":"My Chemical Romance ","path":"\/artist\/my-chemical-romance"},{"title":"The Regrettes","path":"\/artist\/regrettes"},{"title":"Lukas Graham","path":"\/artist\/lukas-graham-0"},{"title":"Neil Young","path":"\/artist\/neil-young"},{"title":"Dua Lipa","path":"\/artist\/dua-lipa"},{"title":"Sabina Ddumba","path":"\/artist\/sabina-ddumba"},{"title":"The Magician","path":"\/artist\/magician"},{"title":"Larry June","path":"\/artist\/larry-june"},{"title":"Nile Rodgers","path":"\/artist\/nile-rodgers"},{"title":"Grades","path":"\/artist\/grades"},{"title":"Brodinski","path":"\/artist\/brodinski"},{"title":"Michael Canitrot","path":"\/artist\/michael-canitrot"},{"title":"Kimbra","path":"\/artist\/kimbra"},{"title":"Idina Menzel","path":"\/artist\/idina-menzel"},{"title":"Echosmith","path":"\/artist\/echosmith"},{"title":"Twin Shadow","path":"\/artist\/twin-shadow"},{"title":"Gallant","path":"\/artist\/gallant"},{"title":"Rituals of Mine","path":"\/artist\/rituals-mine"},{"title":"Michael Bubl\u00e9","path":"\/artist\/michael-buble"},{"title":"Houndmouth","path":"\/artist\/houndmouth"},{"title":"Prince","path":"\/artist\/prince"},{"title":"Feder","path":"\/artist\/feder"},{"title":"Duran Duran","path":"\/artist\/duran-duran"},{"title":"Kylie Minogue","path":"\/artist\/kylie-minogue"},{"title":"Bebe Rexha","path":"\/artist\/bebe-rexha"},{"title":"New Politics","path":"\/artist\/new-politics"},{"title":"The Black Keys","path":"\/artist\/black-keys"},{"title":"Damien Rice","path":"\/artist\/damien-rice"},{"title":"ILOVEMAKONNEN","path":"\/artist\/ilovemakonnen"},{"title":"Mystery Skulls","path":"\/artist\/mystery-skulls"},{"title":"Red Hot Chili Peppers","path":"\/artist\/red-hot-chili-peppers"},{"title":"Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers","path":"\/artist\/tom-petty-and-heartbreakers"},{"title":"Bette Midler","path":"\/artist\/bette-midler"},{"title":"The Head and The Heart","path":"\/artist\/head-and-heart"},{"title":"Sleeping With Sirens","path":"\/artist\/sleeping-sirens"},{"title":"The Flaming Lips","path":"\/artist\/flaming-lips"},{"title":"Kaya Stewart","path":"\/artist\/kaya-stewart"},{"title":"Paul Weller","path":"\/artist\/paul-weller"},{"title":"Kaskade","path":"\/artist\/kaskade"},{"title":"Teemid","path":"\/artist\/teemid"},{"title":"Blonde","path":"\/artist\/blonde"},{"title":"Mayra Veronica","path":"\/artist\/mayra-veronica"},{"title":"Death From Above 1979","path":"\/artist\/death-above-1979"},{"title":"Lianne La Havas","path":"\/artist\/lianne-la-havas"},{"title":"Sheryl Crow","path":"\/artist\/sheryl-crow"},{"title":"Andra Day","path":"\/artist\/andra-day"},{"title":"Sahbabii","path":"\/artist\/sahbabii"},{"title":"Majid Jordan","path":"\/artist\/majid-jordan"},{"title":"Mudcrutch","path":"\/artist\/mudcrutch"},{"title":"Blur","path":"\/artist\/blur"},{"title":"Dylan Gardner","path":"\/artist\/dylan-gardner"},{"title":"Priory","path":"\/artist\/priory"},{"title":"Biffy Clyro ","path":"\/artist\/biffy-clyro"},{"title":"Ethan Gruska","path":"\/artist\/ethan-gruska"},{"title":"Big Data","path":"\/artist\/big-data"},{"title":"Banks & Steelz","path":"\/artist\/banks-steelz"},{"title":"Fort Minor","path":"\/artist\/fort-minor"},{"title":"PartyNextDoor","path":"\/artist\/partynextdoor"},{"title":"Cher ","path":"\/artist\/cher"},{"title":"TYuS","path":"\/artist\/tyus"},{"title":"Muse","path":"\/artist\/muse"},{"title":"Gerard Way","path":"\/artist\/gerard-way-0"},{"title":"Lily Allen","path":"\/artist\/lily-allen"}]
MAILING LIST SIGN UP
Unable to process your request at this time. Please try again later.
Thanks for signing up!
By submitting your email you are opting in to the official [artist name] mailing list, you agree to receive emails and updates from time to time from [artist name] and their record label, and you agree to the PRIVACY POLICY and TERMS OF SERVICE.
X

C

E

F

H

I

K

[{"parent":{"title":"Get on the list!","body":"Get exclusive information about Warner Bros. Records tour dates, video premieres and special announcements","field_newsletter_id":"6518500","field_label_list_id":"14076565","field_display_rates":"0","field_preview_mode":"false","field_lbox_height":"","field_lbox_width":"","field_toaster_timeout":"60000","field_toaster_position":"From Top","field_turnkey_height":"1000","field_mailing_list_params_toast":"&autoreply=no","field_mailing_list_params_se":"&autoreply=no"}}]

One of the unlikeliest success stories in rock at the turn of the millennium, Detroit rap-rocker Kid Rock shot to superstardom with his fourth full-length album, 1998's Devil Without a Cause. What made it so shocking was that Rockhad recorded his first demo a full decade before, been booted off major label Jive following his Beastie Boys-ish 1990 debut, Grits Sandwiches for Breakfast, and toiled for most of the decade in obscurity, releasing albums to a small, devoted, mostly local fan base while earning his fair share of ridicule around his home state. Nevertheless, Rockpersevered, and by the time rap-metal had begun to attract a substantial audience, he had perfected the outlandish, over the top white-trash persona that gave Devil Without a Cause such a distinctive personality and made it such an infectious party record.
Bob "Kid Rock" Ritchie (born Robert James Ritchie, January 17, 1971) grew up in Romeo, Michigan, a small rural town north of the Detroit metro area. Finding small-town life stiflingly dull, Ritchie immersed himself in rap music, learned to breakdance, and began making the talent-show rounds in Detroit. Inspired by the Beastie Boys' Licensed to Ill -- white performers fusing rap and hard guitar rock -- Kid Rockrecorded his first demos in 1988, and eventually scored an opening slot at a Boogie Down Productions gig. That performance, in turn, led to a contract with Jive Records, which issued Kid Rock's debut album, Grits Sandwiches for Breakfast, in 1990. Produced by Kid Rock, Too Short, and D-Nice, the album was heavily derivative of Licensed to Ill. Rock briefly became notorious when a New York college radio station aired the album's profanity-laced ode to oral sex, "Yodelin' in the Valley," and was fined over $20,000 (a judgment later rescinded). However, despite a tour with Too Short and Ice Cube, Jive didn't see much of a future for Kid Rock and dropped him from their roster.

Moving to Brooklyn, Rock hooked up with the small Continuum label, and moved his brand of rap further into hard rock with The Polyfuze Method, released in 1993. Reviews were mixed, with some critics praising the record's humor and eclecticism while others dismissed it as awkward and forced. The EP Fire It Up followed in 1994, appearing on Rock's own Top Dog imprint (which was still distributed by Continuum). Rock eventually returned to the Detroit area and began work on another album; recorded on a shoestring budget, Early Mornin' Stoned Pimp was released in 1996. Although sometimes forced to sell bootleg dubs of his own records to pay the rent, Rock set about forming a full-fledged backing band, which he dubbed Twisted Brown Trucker. While its membership fluctuated early on, rapper Joe C. (born Joseph Calleja) was one of the first to join; a longtime fan and frequent concert attendee, Calleja caught Rock's eye in 1994, partly because of his diminutive stature (due to a digestive condition known as celiac disease, which required both dialysis and extensive medication) and partly because of his encyclopedic knowledge of Rock's song lyrics. The rest of the lineup settled around mostly Detroit-area musicians: guitarists Kenny Olson and Jason Krause, keyboardist Jimmy Bones (born Jimmy Trombly, he handles the basslines himself), drummer Stefanie Eulinberg, DJ/turntablist Uncle Kracker (born Matt Shafer, who had been with Rock since the early '90s), and backing vocalists Misty Love and Shirley Hayden.

As rap-metal acts like Korn, Limp Bizkit, and Rage Against the Machine began to dominate the hard rock landscape, Atlantic Records decided to take a chance on signing Rock. Devil Without a Cause didn't do much upon its initial release in August 1998, but a big promotional push from the label and MTV helped make the album's second single and video, "Bawitdaba," a nationwide smash. The follow-up, "Cowboy," achieved similar success, and suddenly, after a decade of trying, Kid Rock was a superstar with a Top Five, seven-times-platinum album and a gig at Woodstock '99. While pondering how to follow up Devil, Rock acquired the rights to his indie label recordings and remixed or re-recorded the best material for The History of Rock, which was released in the summer of 2000 and featured some new songs as well. Sadly, after being forced to take a break from touring a year earlier by his medical difficulties, Joe C. passed away in his sleep on November 16, 2000.

Even with a tragedy like this in his life, Rock continued work on his follow-up to Devil Without a Cause. The media focused more on his relationship with actress Pamela Anderson than his musical career, which many magazines were beginning to ridicule. His DJ, Uncle Kracker, had a successful solo career during the spring and summer of 2001, leaving Rock without one of his most frequent collaborators. Still, by the winter of that year he had completed work on Cocky and had released "Forever" to success on rock radio. In fall 2003, Kid Rock returned with a self-titled effort. A cover of Bad Company's "Feel Like Makin' Love" marked the first single. The cover art to his 2006 live album, Live Trucker, paid tribute to Bob Seger's Live Bullet. Just a year later the studio record Rock N Roll Jesus came out, landing at number one and selling 172,000 copies in its first week. Born Free, produced by Rick Rubin and featuring guest appearances by Martina McBride, Trace Adkins, Zac Brown, Sheryl Crow, Bob Seger, James Hetfield, and T.I., arrived in 2010. Born Free debuted at number five on the Billboard charts but it didn't generate any hit singles; the title track peaked at 31 on the Rock Songs chart and "Collide," featuring Crow and Seger, didn't fare much better on the Country and Adult Contemporary charts. Kid Rock toured in 2011, then set about recording his next album, Rebel Soul, which appeared late in 2012.

Artist/Band image: 
artist genre: 
Instagram user id: 
295314722
Hide from Grid: 
Home page thumbnail image: 
Artist page thumbnail image: 
Artist Twitter Widget embed: